Apply for a scholarship

The Ohio State Alumni Club of the Sacramento Valley Scholarship fund has been established through the hard work of our club members, the generosity of our donors and many Buckeye fans and alumni. Our club is proud to provide scholarships to students in the club area, accepted at Ohio State and are committed to attend. Students from the club area may be awarded scholarship money based on the following criteria:

  • Preferably be admitted to the university
  • Academic merit and a strong record of participation in school, community and extracurricular activities
  • Quality of answers to several essay questions.
  • Possibly a personal interview with our local scholarship committee.

ScholarshipUniverse simplifies the process of finding and applying for internal and external scholarships at Ohio State. This platform hosts all alumni club scholarships. Apply and/or update your profile each year by The Ohio State University priority date for maximum aid consideration.

Log in to ScholarshipUniverse using your Ohio State username (lastname.#) and password. Need instructions for activating your username? Contact Buckeye Link, 614-292-OHIO, for assistance.

Further information on scholarships and Financial Aid at Ohio State can be found here. For questions, contact the Alumni Association’s Leslie Smith at or 614-292-6576.

To donate to the club fund, click here to donate.

With the support of the board, members and fans, the Club raised enough money to both increase the Howard T. Canfield Memorial Scholarship fund during the last 11 years as well as give out scholarships totaling $30,600 to highly qualified local students attending Ohio State. Congratulations to all of our most recent scholarship recipients:

– 2020/21: Cory Gopf
– 2019/20: Natalie Katsuyama
– 2018/19: Michaela Mahnke and Olivia Righton
– 2017/18: Michaela Mannke, Olivia Righton and Sterling Winter
– 2016/17: Olivia Righton and Sterling Winter
– 2015/16: Olivia Righton and Sterling Winter
– 2014/15: Taylorr Navarro and Hannah Bensman
– 2013/14: Kelly Maringer
– 2012/13: Natalia White, Graham Lyon, Brandon Soalfeld and Hanna Bensman
– 2011/12: Graham Lyon, Kelli Hagar and Natalia White
– 2010/11: Yi-Ling Shen, Christopher Holm and Graham Lyon
– 2009/10: Michael J. Hayne