The Alumni Club of Greater Richmond awards an annual local scholarship to help Central Virginia students go to Ohio State. In the Spring of 1999, the Board of Trustees officially established the Greater Richmond Virginia Scholarship Fund.

The monetary goal of $15,000 needed to reach endowment status was achieved in just five years, making our club the smallest outside of the state of Ohio to establish an endowed scholarship fund at the time.

The annual income from the endowed scholarship is used to provide merit scholarships for undergraduate, professional, and graduate students who graduated from high schools in Central Virginia. Students receiving the scholarship must be in the top 15% of their high school graduating class, demonstrate leadership, and be involved in school and community activities.

Give to the Scholarship Fund

Past Recipients

  • 2015: William Aidan, Monica Sarp
  • 2014: Rob Solomson, Neall Sarmey
  • 2013: Tariq Hamzey (Maggie Walker Governor’s School), Andrew Horbaly (Albemarle High School)
  • 2012: Taylor Coombs (Hanover High School), Nicholas Balog (Patrick Henry High School)
  • 2011: Margaret “Maggie” Echols (Monticello High School), Nicole Tignor (Hanover High School), Laura Guthrie (Hanover High School)
  • 2010: Patrick Christ (Matoaca High School), Sarah Habermehl (Prince George High School), Lauren Kozar (Colonial Forge High School)
  • 2009: David C. Gerstenmaier Jr. (Douglas Freeman High School)
  • 2008: James A. Habermehl (Prince George High School)
  • 2007: Kayla Zeiters (Thomas Dale High School), Mitchell Thomas (Albemarle High School)
  • 2006: David W. Lowery (Hanover High School), Kelly M. Onder (J.R. Tucker High School)
  • 2005: Adam Winston (Maggie Walker Governor’s School)
  • 2004: Zachary Timmons (Woodside High School), Brandon Miller (Lloyd C. Bird High School)
  • 2003: Jennifer Villacres (North Stafford High School)
  • 2002: Peter Chang (Miles E. Godwin High School), Jessica Beck (Douglas S. Freeman High School)
  • 2001: Sean Griffin (Miles E. Godwin High School), Mark Spain (Lafayette High School)
  • 2000: Maria Chang (Miles E. Godwin High School)
  • 1999: Morgan L. Wonorski (E.C. Glass High School)
  • 1998: Rachel Hovis (Maggie Walker Governor’s School)
  • 1997: Katie Edwards
  • 1996: Sarah Nagle (J.R. Tucker High School)
  • 1995: Ashley Whitt
  • 1994: Andrew Zemon (Nelson County High School)
  • 1993: William Ridder (Lloyd C. Bird High School)
  • 1992: Elizabeth Ridder (Lloyd C. Bird High School)
  • 1991: Christopher A. Krajacich (Monacan High School)